Map of the Azores

The Map of the Azores gradually emerged and grew since the years 1325 and 1439, where it was represented in several portulans and atlases. But it was in 1584 that the first map with all the islands of archipelago appeared. See the complete map below and in detail by island.

Mapa dos Açores

The Archipelago of the Azores is located in the Atlantic Ocean and is part of the Macronésia region, where Madeira, the Canary Islands, Cape Verde and the African Northwest are also included.

Divided into three groups, the Azores are composed of 9 islands that total an area of ​​2 329.67 km2.

Eastern Group: Santa Maria (97 km2) and São Miguel (747 km2);
Central GroupTerceira (397 km2), Graciosa (61 km2), São Jorge (238 km2), Faial (173 km2) and Pico (447 km2);
Western Group: Flores (143 km2) and Corvo (17 km2);

Below you can see the map of the Azores divided by the 9 islands of the Azores .

Santa Maria

Santa Maria – Cuted by deep bays, the island of Santa Maria has 97,42 Km2 of surface, with 17 km of length and 9,5 km of maximum width. The highest altitude is 590m at Pico Alto.

São Miguel

São Miguel is the biggest island of the Azores, measuring 90 km long and 8-15 km wide. It occupies an area of ​​around 747 square kilometers, divided by 6 different municipalities: Ponta Delgada, Lagoa, Ribeira Grande, Vila Franca do Campo, Povoação and Nordeste. São Miguel is also known as Green Island due the endless green pastures.


As its name indicates, it was the third island of the Azores Archipelago to be discovered, after Santa Maria and São Miguel.  Terceira is approximately 29 km long and 18 km wide, measuring its perimeter 90 km and has an area of ​​402.2 km2. The highest point of the island is at an altitude of 1022 m and is located in the Serra de Santa Bárbara on the west side.


Graciosabelongs to the Central Group of the Azores Archipelago. It has an area of ​​60.84 km2 and a population of 5500 inhabitants. It measures 10 km long and 7 km wide.

São Jorge

São Jorge, is located in the center of the Central Group of the Azores Archipelago, separated from the Island of Pico by 15 km. São Jorge is 56 km long and 8 km wide, and its total area is 246, 25 km2. The coast, steep and almost vertical, especially on the north, is interrupted by small flat coastal surfaces – called Fajãs.


Pico is the second biggest island in the Azores Archipelago, and it is 8.3 km from Faial Island and 15 km from São Jorge Island. Has a total surface of 447 km. It measures 42 km long and 20 km wide. It owes its name to the majestic volcanic mountain (Pico Mountain). It is the highest mountain in Portugal and the third largest mountain that emerges from the Atlantic, reaching 2,351 meters of altitude.


Located at the western end of the Central Group of the Azores Archipelago, Faial is separated from the Pico Island by a narrow 8.3 km (or 4.5 nautical miles) wide – the Faial. It has an area of 172.43 km². In 1924, Raúl Brandão called it “Blue Island” due to the great amount of hydrangeas.


Flores Island is located in the Western Group and occupies an area of ​​141.7 km2, mostly consisting of mountainous terrain, characterized by large ravines and gigantic cliffs.
The highest point of the island is the Morro Alto, at 914 m altitude. Flores is one of the most beautiful islands in the Azores.


Corvo Island is the smallest of the islands of the Azores Archipelago.
With an area of ​​17.2 km2, 6.5 km long and 4 km wide, Corvo Island is formed by a single extinct volcanic mountain – Monte Gordo, crowned with a large hollow of caldron called Caldeirão.

The first Map of the Azores

This was the first map of the Archipelago of the Azores by Abraham Ortelius (cartographer and geographer) and Luís Teixeira (Portuguese cartographer). Some curiosities can be seen in the image below:

Mapa dos Açores em 1584

Interactive map

Now that you know all about the Map of the Azores in detail consider sharing it:

Map of the Azores
5 (100%) 24 avaliações